Synchronicity

I’ve read about it – but not really ever experienced it in any meaningfully creative way until yesterday.

I wrote a post about how I find it hard to get into a writing frame of mind. Then I had a look a website that I’d seen earlier on – the Learning Space  from the Open University. There are free modules that you can study at your own pace, and I’d seen one that I fancied called ‘Writing what you know’.

And one of the first things I came across in this module was an interview with Andrew Cowan (author of several novels) talking about how he finds it hard to get into writing. He has to ‘circle the nest’ first – that is get all the jobs and distractions out of the way before he can write. He talked about putting his first novel Pig aside for weeks at a time while he did anything but write it.

So I feel better now. I’m not the procrastinating freak that I thought I was. (Or at least not the only one.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Anxiety, Synchronicity, Time, Writing

Leave a Reply

