The science of sleep

I’m beginning to wonder if my son’s bed isn’t fitted with some kind of spring action. I tuck him into bed (after the play, cuddles, bath, story ritual) and go downstairs to get the washing up done – and, is if by magic, he’s there with me announcing that he can’t sleep!

I can’t be too hard on him because I know how he feels. I was terrible at staying in bed and going to sleep when I was six too. But there were two of my parents – so they could at least take turns in putting me back to bed. Feeble excuse, I know – this is Karma, isn’t it?

I don’t think it helps that we are reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. It’s just the sort of story to get the imagination going over-time. I should try reading him one of my marketing text books next time. (Always got me to sleep.)

But now that he’s finally gone off to sleep and I can work undisturbed, I’m too tired. By rights I shouldn’t be writing this – I should be making sandwiches and getting myself off to bed, so that I stand some chance of not being too tired tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Children, Sleep, Writing

Leave a Reply

